Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 11.19.57 PM

I built a wall

between us

of unsaid words

of closed doors

of faces turned away

and backs turned towards

 

That day in the field

the sun high in the sky

the dead grass crunching under our feet

it was not a step I took towards you

but a wall I climbed

 

that it is why it took so long

to be at last

by your side

That is why as the wall exists

it will always take so long

 

As the wall exists

I will always be hiding–

a bigger occasion always needed

to get me to climb

I understand now

I will have to start chipping away at that wall

with words exchanged

open doors

with faces turned forwards

instead of away

 

Because if I don’t start chipping away at that wall

I will continue chipping away at you papa

and I don’t want to do that papa

because I love you

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

